Putting the funny back in the funnies

Let’s be honest, we’ve all read the daily comics and wondered how some of them are still around. I tend to think the general consensus among readers must be the same – mockworthy comics, comics that aren’t funny, comics that have the same image for three panels with a slightly different caption – no one wants to read them. We all wish the newspaper would just buck tradition, can Snoopy, Zippy, and Andy Capp and give us something actually funny or, at the very least, Calvin and Hobbes and Far Side reruns.

But I have recently realized something. People DO read those other comics. Case in point: here in Columbia, the estimable Mary Worth was cancelled and within two weeks was back in its favored spot due to reader complaints. True story – people actually wrote letters to the editor demanding the return of Mary’s insufferably boring, yet surprisingly intimate, life.

For those of you who, like me, are about to give up on the comics, I commend to you the following sites. Yes, they reference Family Circus and Garfield, comics that are categorically un-funny. But with a few modifications, I think you’ll find them worth a read. Enjoy!

Garfield

Family Circus

6 Comments

Filed under Just for Fun

6 responses to “Putting the funny back in the funnies

  1. Kate

    I’ve seen the Garfield minus Garfield before…I LOVE IT.

    The new take on The Family Circus is QUITE entertaining. 🙂

    -Kate

  2. Dittos the above. 🙂

    Where is the bridge in your photo there, or is that a wordpress default?

  3. marissaburt

    It is a wordpress default – but I’d like to go there, wherever it is.

  4. Ash

    Garfield is awesome but I’m beginning to think its had too long a run,some of the stuff is not funny anymore.

    My personal faves are:

    Non Sequitur

    Stone Soup

    Zits

    Baby blues

    Foxtrot

    Bizzaro

  5. Aaron

    Ash, good list. Though Bizzaro is a bit too, well, bizarre for me. Non Sequitur seems to handle that realm in a way that matches my humor better. Foxtrot was my favorite for a long time, as I sympathized with Jason. Then I hit the age of Jeremy Duncan (which, in some ways, I have yet to grow out of), and Zits became my favorite. I keep a few books of Zits in my office, in fact. Now I’m the age at which Baby Blues applies. Maybe it’s time to transition into a new favorite there. After all, its the same writer between those two (Zits and Baby Blues), Jerry Scott. I have never heard of Stone Soup, by the way; I’ll have to look into that one…

  6. Another great site is the Comics Crumudgeon. The creator of the site, Josh Fruhlinger, mocks comics. It’s fun to surf his archives for his commentary on comics that are fun to hate, such as Family Circus. However, not all of his content is family friendly, and sometimes he’s just crude. Use your discretion:

    http://www.joshreads.com

Leave a Reply

