A Rummaging Read: The Lord of the Rings Trilogy

I really can’t do the trilogy justice or pinpoint one specific recipe from the books, although a quick google search revealed that there are many people out there doing just this.  If you want to try your hand at Lembas Bread or other tasty treats from Tolkein’s world, you’re in good company.

I first read the trilogy in middle school.  I remember sitting through lunch poring over the books (yes, I was that girl), and, as I’ve shared before, went so far as to tuck an old keyring on a chain under my uniform jumper.  Clearly, I didn’t fully grasp the seriousness of Ringbearing, but my ring let me live in the world for a little while.  And made classes bearable.

At any rate, whenever I was lost in the pages of Middle Earth, I’d welcome the nights my mom made stew for dinner.  Somehow, that always felt extra-questish.  A good dish of stew, a hunk of cheddar, and my faux Ring temporarily satisfied my desire to be part of an Important Happening along with Frodo and all the others.  So, in the hopes that you, too, will join the fellowship, I copy this recipe straight out of the pages of the family cookbook:

Beef Burgundy Stew

2 lbs. Sirloin – cut into generous cubes

2 tsp. oil

2 medium onions, chopped

2 cloves garlic, minced

4 large carrots, chopped

1 lb. small mushrooms, chopped

1 bay leaf

1 cup chopped celery

1 red or yellow pepper, chopped

1/2 tsp. salt

1/2 tsp. thyme

2 cups dry red wine (burgundy)

In a large skillet, saute onion and garlic.  Add the meat and cook through.  Add pepper and celery.  Pour into baking dish and add remaining ingredients.  Bake at 325 degrees for three hours.

Serve with crusty, fresh baked bread and some aged cheese.  Happy questing!

3 Comments

Filed under Rummaging Reads

3 responses to “A Rummaging Read: The Lord of the Rings Trilogy

  1. Yum! This sounds perfect for a fall night. Is it ok that I never read LOTR? Maybe we can call it Hunger Games Stew?

  2. This sounds delicious. 🙂

Leave a Reply

