The Tale of Una Fairchild…coming soon to a bookstore near you!

Well, it’s official, even if I can hardly believe it!  Here’s the announcement from the Publisher’s Weekly Children’s Bookshelf:

Erica Sussman at HarperCollins Children’s Books has bought world English-language rights to two middle-grade novels by debut author Marissa Burt.  The first, tentatively titled The Tale of Una Fairchild, is currently slated for a winter 2012 release.  The fantasy novel follows 12-year-old misfit Una, who stumbles into an otherworld and an ongoing battle between good and evil.  Agent Laura Langlie negotiated the deal.

!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

So a huge thank you to all of you who have been pulling for UNA, who read rough (and I mean, rough) early drafts of the manuscript, and who have been so encouraging and supportive.  And many, many thanks to all my family: for dreaming with me, for good advice and feedback, and for all the babysitting hours.  Add that to all the appreciation I have for the hard work of my agent Laura Langlie and the investment of Erica Sussman at HarperCollins, and I might just go prepare a thanksgiving feast in the middle of March!

Thanks again, everyone, and I’ll keep you posted on book news as it comes in.

11 Comments

Filed under Other

11 responses to “The Tale of Una Fairchild…coming soon to a bookstore near you!

  1. Dad (and proud)

    Marissa, Congratulations! A lot of hard work, effort, prayers and support, but very, very well deserved. I know your mom and I are not surprised, but we are extremely proud and happy for you. How many times have your ready Solo’s Journey?

    I have a feeling that this is the first of many.

    Love You!

  2. Rob Goebel

    I’m so happy for you!!

  3. Yay! That’s so awesome! Congratulations!

  4. Lucky for me I’m also a Facebook friend of yours. Dang! You got a TON of comments on your Facebook page! So I figured I would come over to your blog instead to comment. 🙂

    CONGRATULATIONS!!! I have been fortunate enough to read an early manuscript, and I’m already eager to read the story again! Thanks for writing solid stuff that doesn’t cater to base desires but instead inspires the good qualities that I love about people. Well written and well done landing a contract! My two cents? Harper Collins has chosen wisely. I look forward to reading anything else they might publish of yours down the road. And, of course, I eagerly await a copy of UNA to arrive at my local B&N so I can scoop it up!

  5. marissaburt

    Thanks, everyone! I’ll make sure to keep y’all updated. M

  6. Meg

    That’s great! I knew that your book would end up getting accepted for publishing! I’m so happy for you!

  7. CONGRATULATIONS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 🙂

    I am super super excited about purchasing my own copy of this lovely story!!! 🙂 Can’t wait to read more of your work, Marissa!

  8. marissaburt

    Aw, thanks, K! Only a matter of time for Violet. 😉

  9. Ah! I can’t believe we missed the big announcement.! CONGRATULATIONS Marissa! You’ve worked so hard for this and you truly deserve it. I can’t wait to read all about Una!

  10. Amanda

    Just found your blog (on Facebook)! I’m SO excited for you!!!!! Congrats! – And I can’t wait to buy this book for my neices! =)

    Amanda

  11. marissaburt

    Thanks, L&L Amanda! Still very excited around here. 😉

Leave a Reply

