Is Writing a Book Like Having a Baby?

I’m posting over at AuthorScoop today on the oft-used metaphor that writing a book is like having a baby.  Can you guess how this one-month postpartum  mom feels about that?

KILL YOUR DARLING BABIES? OH MY.  MCCREERY AND BURT WEIGH IN.

The Question: How do you, as a writer, relate to the gestation, childbirth, and parenting metaphor as it pertains to your work?  In short, is your book your baby?

The Short Answer: No.  Writing a book does not make you fat.

The Long Answer: In which I compare gestation and childbirth to the writing process.

(Disclaimer: I write this while 8 months into my fourth pregnancy.  Which, as I’ve written about before, means that I am now a constantly grumpy person.)

Below you will find my very scientific research comparing several components of the two situations.  I did this by fabricating conducting a completely unbiased and very real interview with myself a writer and a pregnant woman…

Read more of the post here.

The Question: How do you, as a writer, relate to the gestation, childbirth, and parenting metaphor as it pertains to your work?  In short, is your book your baby?

The Short Answer: No.  Writing a book does not make you fat.

The Long Answer: In which I compare gestation and childbirth to the writing process.

(Disclaimer: I write this while 8 months into my fourth pregnancy.  Which, as I’ve written about before, means that I am now a constantly grumpy person.)

Below you will find my very scientific research comparing several components of the two situations.  I did this by fabricating conducting a completely unbiased and very real interview with myself a writer and a pregnant woman.

4 Comments

Filed under Just for Fun

4 responses to “Is Writing a Book Like Having a Baby?

  1. Suddenly feeling a quick surge of guilt because not long ago I referred to my practicum project as “my baby” While I try very hard not to use that particular metaphor with this project, the problem is there is really no good (or remotely quick or easy) way to explain the relationship I’ve had with this idea…from funding proposal to drafting interview guides and surveys to data collection to to now sitting down and analyzing….what, if I’m fortunate will only be a 9 month process, but is looking more like 11 months by the moment. Tears, headaches, sunburn, the ring from the drunk guy, a nasty 12 hour layover in Dallas…
    Properly chastised and going back to work now 🙂

  2. I will be participating in Nano this year. Wish you guys could be there. How’s Seattle?

    Hey, click on my name and e-mail me. I have a question for ya. 🙂

  3. marissaburt

    Charis – ha! Well, the metaphor is useful in its own way…I do think the sort of parenting concept works. You do put a lot in to a creative project, shepherd it through difficult stages, and hope that it stands on its own two feet in the end. I’m hoping you get some time to recoup after your world travels and am sad we won’t see you before we leave. Although, it does give you a very good reason to head west one of these days. 😉

  4. marissaburt

    Hey T – Things are wild here right now as we’re still in the throes of packing. We fly out next Wednesday…sending you an e-mail.

Leave a Reply

