Author Videos!

When I was a little girl we used to have a weekly family cleaning day.  Tasks would be given out, a scrubbing frenzy would ensue, and we’d all enjoy the satisfaction of a nice orderly space.  Now that I’m a mom, I wonder how long this sparkling splendor actually lasted, because around here things stay clean for twenty minutes.  Tops.

At any rate, we lived in a two-story house, so my responsibilities kept me running up and down the stairs.  I didn’t mind this at all, because (and this is why I always feel the need to preface blog posts with the label, “Confession”) I would always pause on the landing for a nice freeze-frame shot.  You know, the bits at the beginning of “Full House” or “Family Ties” or “Murder She Wrote” (TGIF!), where the camera stops and the actor is caught mid-grin in some charming pose?  Exactly.

I have no idea what my parents thought of this little person posing on the stair landing, cleaning tools in hand, but I sure had a blast.  In case Hollywood ever came calling, wanting to document our family’s antics on a sitcom, I was ready.  So when my editor e-mailed last month to ask if I’d be interested in doing some author videos, I had a moment of adult-Marissa-introversion-panic.  But I was able to dig down deep and find that other part of me, so here you go:

The inspiration for STORYBOUND:

Best Fairy-Tale Villain Award (Who would YOU pick?):

Best Fairy-Tale Hero Award (Who would YOU pick?):

A little silliness and make-believe.  Welcome to Perrault Academy:

 

2 Comments

Filed under Other

2 responses to “Author Videos!

  1. zackids

    Thanks for your videos Marissa! I love it when authors take you behind the story and discover where their amazing story came from. I really loved your Welcome to Perrault Academy too 🙂

  2. marissaburt

    Hooray! Glad you liked them! It was a lot of fun to do. 🙂

Leave a Reply

