YAmazing Race with MGnificent Prizes

Hi Everyone!  Nicole (5/2 11:59), a.k.a. The Mermaid Princess, has won this giveaway!

Congrats and thanks for stopping by!  I’m going to send you an e-mail with the details now.

Welcome book-atheletes (batheletes? bkatheletes?).! No matter how I swing it, we sound like chickens, which is good since everyone knows that a chicken would totally beat a Giant Space Squid in a avian-sea-creature cage fight.  Game on, Giant Space Squid contenders.  I’m glad you’re here.

And in case you’ve stumbled across this post and think I’ve lost my marbles, the YAmazing Race with MGnificent prizes is a blog hop featuring over 50 debut authors and prize packs that include ARCs, gift certificates, swag, and more!  If you haven’t yet been to the Apocalypsies website, please click here to start from the beginning and read the complete rules.  Now on to the race!

About STORYBOUND:

In the land of Story, children go to school to learn to be characters: a perfect Hero, a trusty Sidekick, even the most dastardly Villain.  They take classes on Outdoor Experiential Questing and Backstory, while adults search for full-time character work in stories written just for them.

In our world, twelve-year-old Una Fairchild has always felt invisible.  But all that changes when she stumbles upon a mysterious book buried deep in the basement of her school library, opens the cover, and suddenly finds herself transported to the magical land of Story.

But Story is not a perfect fairy tale.  Una’s new friend Peter warns her about the grave danger she could face if anyone discovers her true identity.  The devious Tale Keeper watches her every move.  And there are whispers of a deadly secret that seems to revolve around Una herself…

With the timeless appeal of books like A Wrinkle in Time and the breathtaking action of Inkheart, Storybound has all the makings of a new classic.  Brimming with fantastical creatures, magical adventure, and heart-stopping twists, Storybound will leave readers wishing they too could jump through the pages into this enchanting fairy-tale world.  Una’s adventures continue with the sequel to Storybound, STORY’S END, which is due out April 2013.

Great job book-chicken-people-racers!  You’re on your way to defeating the Great Giant Space Squid.  Hurry on over to Elissa Hoole’s blog for the next stop.  But, before you go, leave me a comment telling me what kind of storybook-character you’d most like to be, and I’ll enter you in a giveaway for some gourmet hot cocoa and STORYBOUND swag.

108 Comments

Filed under Other

108 responses to “YAmazing Race with MGnificent Prizes

  1. Pingback: YAmazing Race with MGnificent Prizes! | Gina Damico

  2. Hmm, I would probably be a sidekick. But the fun kind who totally steals the show with my wit and sarcasm. Yes. That.

  3. Kelli Spear

    I’d want to be a villain! They’re generally the most fun characters!

  4. I think it would be fun and step out of my normal box and play a villain.

  5. I would be an old wise wizard.

  6. booksbonesbuffy

    I’m going for sidekick…that way I can take part in the adventure, but not be responsible if things go really wrong…

  7. Ayliesha Harris

    I’d like to be the odd-one-out. There’s always that one character who is so different, a complete outcast, but they always have some significant role. Sometimes they’ll be the hero, be the sidekick, or just take up the over-cliched role as the villain. Either way, they’re still pretty bad-ass.

  8. Ms. Snip

    I want to be the villain who switches sides at the end, just in the nick of time. 🙂

  9. Hm either the totally witty and strong heroine or the awesome ingenious villian. I usually identify with the outcast characters the most or the side characters so I think it would be could to take the role of one of the main characters.

  10. Hmm. I am not sure! But, being a villain does sound like fun 😀 But I would also love being the princess ;p thank you for this giveaway 🙂

  11. i want to be brave and plucky like the heroines from the [disney] fairytales.

  12. I think I might like to be that character the hero/heroine encounters on their journey whose role in everything is enigmatic and ambiguous. You know, the one where you’re not sure if they’re a friend or a foe… 😀

    If the giveaway’s open to Canada I’d love to be entered!

  13. I am the logical one who ruins everything.

  14. Becca F

    I would want to play the heroine.

  15. Breanna Hebard

    I would probably want to be a stereotypical princess. I would have lots of great clothes and shoes and a big castle to live in. At the same time I wouldn’t want to be a ditsy damsel in distress kind of princess. I’d like to be more of a kick-butt kind of princess but with lots of clothes and shoes. 🙂

  16. i think i’d want to be the side kick so i could enjoy all the adventurous stuff but not have as much responsibility. I could totally be a supporter though : )

  17. A princess, complete with a tiara 🙂
    celjla212 at aol dot com

  18. Jesse Grant

    I’d be a hero cause they’re always the main character! 🙂

  19. nicolezoltack

    I want to be a heroine!

  20. I’d like to be something magical–maybe like the fairies from Sleeping Beauty 🙂

  21. Lauren

    I’d want to be an animal sidekick that talks 🙂

  22. I know this sounds pathetic, but I’d be the damsel in distress, sitting around waiting to be rescued, with nothing but a liibrary to keep me company!

  23. I’d like to be the Princess Heroine who rides a magical dragon and finds herself in a new ensemble with every scene, thanks for asking!

    I would love to have you on my blog, The Mod Podge Bookshelf, please let me know if you’re interested!

  24. Crystal A.

    I think I would be a villain, but one in the end that could be changed to the good side of the story! So maybe an unlikely hero?

  25. Nicole

    I would totally want to be a Princess, or a Mermaid princess. =D

    musichn91@gmail.com

  26. Joy

    I’ll the the princess who can take care of the dragon herself, but falls for the dashing, and ever-so-helpful, hero, of course. 🙂

  27. Hillary!

    I’d be the trusty sidekick who always gets into trouble and needs her best friend the main character to get her out of trouble. Yeeeeah. Sounds like my life already. I love the cover for Storybound!

  28. I always wanted to be an elf or a fairy

  29. Mollie :)

    I would be either a sidekick or that crusty old wizard guy that has a huge beard, bushy mustache, and lives in a room full of books.

  30. I want to be an anti-hero!!!!! (Like Cassel Sharpe… not like Brutus).

  31. i think a wise old dragon or griffin to help the those on quests

  32. This sounds like an awesome story. I’m definitely going to point my MG/YA librarian roommate at it.

    Oops, forgot to mention that I’d be the absent-minded, scribbling, bard-sidekick who knows all the random facts that occasionally come in handy, but usually just confuse people! (Case in point…)

  33. Let’s see I most relate to the side-kick who is usually really funny, but tends to make matters worse : )

  34. I have always really liked the villains. They seem like underdogs sometimes.

  35. I would absolutely, without a doubt be the princess who dreams of being a warrior, and disguises herself as a boy to fight the dastardly villain, and ends up falling for the dashing prince. I always imagined this is how my life would be…

  36. I would want to be the side kick.

  37. April Hunter

    I would want to be the kick-butt heroine obviously 😛

  38. samantha ramos

    I would most want to be the heroine!

  39. Michelle Couture

    I would love to be a Hero in a fairy tale.

  40. Havilah

    I would want to be the sidekick! They get all the good lines. They also provide the stress relief.

  41. I would love to be a warrior princess with cool weapons and beautiful dresses.

  42. McKenna Burke

    The sidekick gets to have some great one-liners!

  43. Paige Schwartz

    I know it sounds cliche, but I would really like to be the heroine. Sometimes they get the guy too you know? Well I wouldn’t want to be defenseless, and I wouldn’t want to be in someone’s shadow and I wouldn’t want to stand up for something bad. I would be like Robin Hood! haha. (good times. 🙂 )

  44. I’d probably be a sidekick…I dont really consider myself a leader, more of a follower 🙂

    lili.lost.in.a.book@gmail.com

  45. Amy

    I think I would want to be the heroine. I mean I love kick butt characters who tend to do stupid things, but still save the day.

  46. Mary DeBorde [M.A.D.]

    I’d want to be the wise old owl who rests in the tree while dispensing wisdom, and getting to nap throughout the day whenever I felt like it lol

  47. The wise old man/woman side character who drops convenient snippets of info to the MC. Also because they (almost) NEVER die.

  48. kassiah

    It doesn’t matter to me if I get to be a kick-ass heroine or a dastardly villain, as long as I get the swoony boy!

    Thanks for this giveaway!
    kassiah at fictionators dot com

  49. I’d love to finally step up and be a heroine, but truthfully I’d probably be that obscure background character who gets an awesome, memorable one-liner – either comic relief or something really poignant and observant.

    Thank you for the giveaway!

  50. I know I’m a sidekick type of person ! I always like to help.

  51. Can I be the pretty yet awesome kick-butt sidekick? Yep, I think I’d be good with that.

  52. Jessica Kilian

    Hmm… I would definitely love to be the thief. You know that one person who manages to steal your amulet or nicks your favourite food. They rarely get caught and they have an infamy all over their own

  53. Jessica Schumann

    The trusty side kick. They always seem to have the most fun

  54. Villian for sure 😀 We may never win, but we surely have fun creating trouble along the way!

  55. Joanne

    I would love to be the mystical and wise sage that points the hero toward the right path.

  56. I want to be the heroine. So I could be sure that despite all the hardships and trials I will get the boy. Erm, scratch that. I mean, I was referring to my happily ever after. 🙂

  57. I’d want to be the sidekick!

  58. laura carter

    id be the sidekick who saves the day at the last minute 😛

  59. Elizabeth

    Not original, but Snow White!

  60. Honestly? I would love to be stronger and fast… no magic, no bows, no elf or anything like that, just a human girl capable of extraordinary things.

    Thanks for the giveaway 😀

    Now I have to go and find this giant pace squid!

  61. I want to be the dark, evil and completely brooding villain with a tragic past and a maniacal cackle. Thank you for the giveaway 🙂

  62. Kimberly B.

    I would like to be the fairy godmother. I used to want to be Cinderella, but she’s done with the magic once she marries the prince. I want to keep my magic for all time.
    Unless I’m watching “Once Upon a Time”. Then I want to be the evil queen for the wardrobe alone!
    Thanks for the great giveaway!

  63. Jaime S.

    I don’t know why, but I’ve always wanted to by the villain. It would be so much fun to brood around and twist things around for the hero. But in the end, I would like to realize my evil ways and perhaps become the Sidekick!

  64. Elizabeth

    I would love to be snow white!

  65. Saad

    i would like to be the funny sidekick. The guy who always steals the show because of his stupid mistakes 😀

  66. I’d have to go for the sidekick as well – someone witty and sarcastic! 😀

  67. boiinkme

    I would be the heroine, the one who faces her fears and encounters adversity, and goes through deep personal change only to come out bettered

  68. Artemis

    I would most like to be the heroine who has more than one gorgeous boyfriends who fighting for her heart.
    Thank you for the giveaway!

  69. I would be the crazy sidekick who is always getting into trouble that the hero has to save.

  70. A princess of course! 😀

  71. Well I’d probably BE a sidekick, but secretly I would want to be a Villain. I am such a nice, easy-going person in person, but there is always this tiny part of me that wishes I could just be straight-up mean to everyone all the time. I would be the side-kick who turns on the hero and breaks all of the readers hearts.

  72. Samantha Sargent

    The mad advisor!

  73. I’d be the villain with a heart of gold. Who is also a princess.

  74. FLord Naezel

    Of course everyone else wants to be a hero or heroine! And i’d love to! 😀

  75. Ann

    Ug, it doesn’t matter what character I am, does it? The writer’s just going to torture me anyway! ;P

    I’d have to go with the clueless best friend. They’re usually pretty safe.

  76. I would like to be the co-herione (meaning the main character, as long as I have someone to back me up!)

  77. A villainous villain, but one with a quirky side that leaves the reader kinda, almost liking me. 😉

  78. Kathryn

    I’d be the best friend with endless sarcasm and dry humor!

  79. Does Robin Hood count? Because I would totally be Robin Hood. he kicks butt!

  80. Joy

    I would probably be the reasonable sidekick who keeps the main characters from doing stupid things that would get them killed….. oh, and I would provide comic relief. 🙂

  81. Nikki

    I really want to be the sarcastic, witty, funny sidekick who may cause some trouble but always finds a way to help save the day! Yup I have thought about this for a while.
    jacksandnumbers(at)hotmail(dot)com

  82. Shannon

    Haha… gourmet hot cocoa? Anyway, I’d probably be heroine since they get the happily ever after. I guess the villain would be fun to play but few villains are really, uhh well… villainous…

    This book sounds really interesting. (I loved the Inkheart books!) Storybound is definitely going on my to-read list 🙂 Thanks for taking the time to write this book for us readers and for the awesome giveaway!

    ~Shannon

  83. I have a sneaking suspicion I’d be a straightforward heroine but I like to think I’d be a kick-ass, assassin-skilled anti-heroine with lots of snark and steel to back it up. 🙂 Thank you for the giveaway! xx

  84. tegan

    I’d be the wise hermit, living off in the woods!

  85. I’d be that kindly neighbour who always has cookies fresh from the oven for the children.

  86. I would love to be a wise and contemplative character, who was not the main character but the more level-headed sidekick.

  87. Shinyfox

    I would probably be some sort of sidekick. The one that tries to be cool but usually fails, but makes up for it with her wit and sarcastic biting replies.

    But what WANT to be is that obnoxious side character who is a mean pickpocket and sneak thief. I’ll probably have some valuable information for the Main characters, but they won’t get it out of me THAT easily!

  88. I would want to be a sidekick most because I love to advise people and I don’t really like the spotlight.

    maddyinpoulsbo@yahoo.com

  89. I would be a Fairy Princess who marries Prince Charming and lives happily ever after. (although, that sounds a lot like my real life)
    Thanks for the Giveaway & Happy Races!
    ~Lynne

  90. Adriene

    I’ve always had a fondness for dashing rogues so that is the character I would love to be.

  91. bn100

    I’d like to be Cinderella.

  92. I’d like to be the villain who will end up to be good and be married by a princess. LOL

  93. I’d like to be the smart side-kick that can still kick butt…like Hermione from Harry Potter!!

    Thanks for taking part in the race and for the giveaway!

    Baggins
    bookishbaggins(at)gmail(dot)com

  94. Stephanie

    I would definitely want to be the hero of the story…. 🙂

  95. Kim

    Villain. One of those ones that ends up revealing my whole plan and then i get foiled in the end.

    Kim – Kimberlycstella@gmail.com

  96. I’d want to be the heronine of the story who saves her hero :).

    Ooops! bookandlatte (at) gmail (dot) com.

  97. Betsy

    I want to be a sidekick but I like things to go my way so I feel like I’d even up bossing everyone around and trying to be the hero. I just want to get to rid a horse around and wear cool costumes.

    Betsy – betsy.halvorsen(at)gmail(dot)com

  98. I’d want to be a princess because then I just have to look pretty and get everything handed to me. Unlike in real life 🙂 Thank you for the giveaway.

    ayareader@hotmail.com

  99. Tressa S

    Oh the heroine to be sure, but now a wimpy one. 🙂

  100. Amanda Dickson

    I think my feelings are like the song Who I’d Be from the musical Shrek. I would be a hero! Scale a tower, defeat the dragon, rescue my true love!

  101. I’d either be a) the hilariously-cheesy villain with really good comebacks, or b) the sassy sidekick (who also totally kicks butt), or c) the annoying talking animal, who’s actually smarter than you think…and has magical powers.

    Thanks for the amazing giveaway!
    iliveforreading AT hotmail DOT com

  102. I’d love to be a kick-ass heroine who can fight. But I’ll probably be the clumpsy friend who gets in trouble

    aliasgirl at libero dot it

  103. Becky

    I think I’d want to be a sidekick. Maybe one that’s skilled with tinkering or…or long-range stuff! I want to help with battling evil but maintain a good distance from it.

    RebeccaCYeager (at) gmail (dot) com

  104. marissaburt

    Wow! Great answers everyone! I think I secretly would want to be a villain who then reforms in the end. Or a sleuth in some historical mystery.

    Thanks for stopping by, and I’m going to use random.org to generate a winner and post at the top. Happy reading everyone!

Leave a Reply

